After Some Reflection…

I really enjoyed my first project for Photography Practices. I learned a skill I’ve always hoped to learn.

I’ve take photography classes before and learned a whole bunch of terms like shutter speed, ISO, Aperture, etc. but I didn’t fully understood what those tools could do for me. Now that I’ve learned how to use a manual camera, I feel like I’ve come to understand how they can benefit me.  For some reason, one problem I had was removing the film out of the camera. I was never sure if I did it correctly and if I should open the camera to collect my film. Also every time I returned to the dark room, it felt like I had to go thought a period of adjustment. I would forget rules and make mistakes before I got into the motion of printing test strips and photos.

For this assignment, the final six prints I’ve choose is:

While I take photos, I am usually looking for different textures and angles. For my top left photo (Walking in Venice), I really like the repetition of the arch ways and the windows. I also like the gloss on the floor from the rain and my friend and sister walking by it. The photo has a fog on it that is probably a mistake on the negative, but I think it works for the image.

To the right of the image (Giambologna – Oceano) is of a statue I saw in the Bargello National Museum in Florence. I choose this image because the angle came out exactly how I wanted it to. Completely different. The shadows and light hits the statue in a whole bunch of different spots, which really brings out the shapes.

Underneath that is an image of Michelangelo’s David. I choose that image because I liked the texture of the dome in the background and how he is off centered. The image almost looks like a real human being if you just focus on the shadows on the chest. To the left is another image of the statue but from behind. I really liked this photo because of the light provided from the dome on the ceiling. The arches also provide a lot of shapes and the body is just one huge shadow.

Back to the right, the image in the center is of Piazza San Marco’s Palazzo Ducale in Venice. I really liked this photo because of the repetition and texture of the image. Lastly, is the image of some buildings and a maze from the bird’s eye view in Venice. I really like this image because of the angle of it and the shapes from the maze.

I’m really interested in what others think of my photos, so please comment below!

 

Leave a Reply

